Imitating A Scanner Darkly

I know this isn’t technically photography, but I love them too much to not post! All the original photos were taken by me before I did a vector drawing over them.Constructive criticism would be greatly appreciated! I’ve been told they resemble work from A Scanner Darkly. I absolutely love them and could look at all the different shapes and colours in them for hours. I’m really pleased with how they turned out.

This first vector drawing is of my brother Ben. Looking at it today I’m not so much of a fan of his eyes when you zoom in on them. The little smile definitely captures his personality.

Next is a vector of my friend Bethany. The photo was taken on the shore of the Athabasca river in Jasper. My friends and I spend two summers as housekeepers out there. Beautiful land!

This is my friend Yvette. This photo was also taken in Jasper. She has the most amazing and contagious laugh you will ever hear! I love this capture of her.

This is a vector of my boyfriend, Paul. I took the photo at his Dad’s house while we were down visiting. I love the detail in the reflections in both the glass and his glasses.

And this last vector drawing is my favourite. I don’t know what it is; the colours, her expression, or the fact that it was my first. Jessica is also a friend of mine who was living in Jasper with me for two years. So perhaps because it reminds me of a fun time in my life. I can’t look at this picture without tilting my head sideways. I don’t even realize that I’m doing it lol.

This is the website that I took my inspiration from if you’d like to learn how I did it.

Thanks for stopping by!

6 thoughts on “Imitating A Scanner Darkly

  1. It looks like you’ve got some wonderfully warm friends… and you’ve really captured that spirit here! Very cool!
    I sometimes do some vector stuff with the pen, pencil and shape tools in Illustrator, which is a lot of fun, but it can take a TON of time. It is a very interesting look, though, isn’t it?!

    • Hey! Thanks for the comments! I did these in illustrator as well. I used the pencil tool and layers for them. I just used the eyedropper tool to select the original colours from the photo. I think the hardest part would be being able to look at the image and pick out all the colours that your eye tries to trick you in to believing aren’t there. Up close the purples and browns in the faces look drastic but when you look at the image over all it works. It can definitely take a lot of time but I found that after I got the hang of doing the first one I could do them rather quickly.

  2. These are so great! The look is totally enchanting – and yes, “A Scanner Darkly” as well as “Waking Life” use this technique. Both great movies, by the way :) Also, I have to say that the last pic is my favourite too – it totally oozes love and fun. I just want to hug it!

Leave a Reply

