Dilly Beans & Pickles

Tonight I pickled cucumbers and beans from our garden! They are all dill at the moment, although I did get a recipe for mustard beans from my Grandmother that I want to try. I’m very excited to taste the final results and see if I can in fact make a decent pickle. I’ll let you know the verdict in a minimum of three weeks.

Here is the recipe if you’d like to try it:

Into a quart jar put 2 level tbsp. pickling salt, 1/2 c. white vinegar, tip of tsp. alum, dill on top and bottom of jar, 2 cloves of garlic, 3-4 cukes (or other vegetable of your choice). Fill jar with boiling water, seal and let set for minimum 3 weeks.

Also, something very interesting happened. You can’t see it in the photo as it hadn’t developed at the time I took the pictures, but my garlic has turned blue!! I googled it of course thinking that I had done something wrong and ruined the pickles, and found this really interesting article on why it happens. Personally I found it quite charming and I think I’m going to make a point of doing it every time. It can be my signature thing. :) I’ll post a photo later.

Leave a Reply

